Inspiration · Lifestyle

Things That Inspired Me This Week

Since writing my last blog post, I have managed to get a sizable amount of things done! This is exciting for me, given the fact that I have gone through only extremely rare bursts of motivation for the past several years. Here’s some of the things I’ve done this week:

I figured out logistical things relating to my two jobs at HEB and the on-campus library at SHSU.

I made a few lists regarding this year, including the one I posted to this blog, as well as a monthly challenge thing.

I bought a Zoom H1 microphone and a bundle containing extra goodies like a mini tripod and some headphones! (That’s a completion of one of my goals for this year!)

I watched a couple of the Harry Potter movies! It’s not necessarily a grand achievement, but hey! I did it, and I feel accomplished because of it!

Additionally, there have been several things that have inspired me this week.

The 52 Lists Project

the-52-list-project

I went to Barnes & Noble to buy myself a couple of journals for songwriting and just general note taking/list making, and I stumbled across this cute lil’ book. Basically, the way it works is you are given 52 prompts explaining things for you to make lists about, and you then make lists about them. Pretty straightforward. The first prompt tells you to make a list of your dreams and goals for the year; the second list tells you to make a list of your favorite movie/book characters; and so on. I thought it was a super great idea because list making is the best way I can get things done. I get a sense of accomplishment when I cross out or check off something that I’ve completed on the list! I also have so many thoughts spinning in my head at one time, and oftentimes I’ll think “I need to make a list of the books I need to look into” or “I should make a list of the five movies I would watch for the rest of my life” and stuff like that. So this book is perfect for me because of that! Plus, the aesthetic in this book is SO. PRETTY. Honestly, if I was able to maintain an Instagram feed, this is probably what I’d want it to be. I mean, just LOOK AT THESE PICTURES:

Anyways, I’m looking forward to all the lists I get to make this year!!

Nikki Phillippi

nikkiphillippi

Nikki is definitely one of my most favorite YouTubers on the planet. Not only is she a great lifestyle and beauty vlogger (I can’t get over her lipstick and eyebrow looks lately), but she also does a video series on her channel every year called How to Be Happy January. I can’t point to a specific video that has really inspired me, though, because I just binge watch all of her HTBHJ videos all night. But I can tell you that every time I watch any one of her videos I am inspired to go do something, whether it’s try a new lipstick color, or string some more fairy lights in my room, or sign up for Birchbox, or listen to some book on Audible. She’s also a Christian, so that adds in a refreshing perspective that you don’t see often on YouTube. In one of her more recent videos, though, she mentioned a book called The Slight Edge by Jeff Olson, and I think she said that it’s a great book if you’re trying to accomplish a lot of things. I put that on my list of books I need to look into (I actually made that list of books I need to look into that I mentioned earlier, lol). But anyways, if you haven’t heard of Nikki, I absolutely recommend you check out her channel!

Kelli Taylor

kellitaylor

Kelli is one of the three members of the YouTube channel Blimey Cow. She has her own blog entitled Currently Kelli where she just finished up a year long daily blog project. This week I stumbled across a blog post she posted a couple months ago entitled “Wordless Q&A” where she answered questions with only pictures. She came up with the idea herself, and I thought it was so fun and unique. I love photography, so I would love to incorporate it into a future blog post! It helped me realize that there’s so many different things that I can do with a blog besides just write about my goals for the year or things that happened in a day or whatever. I also think this picture she posted to her Instagram a few months back is really pretty. So, thanks, Kelli, for brightening up my blog post!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I think I’m going to attempt to make a blog entry every Saturday or Sunday, depending on how the week goes. I plan to update on how the week went, if I accomplished any of my goals things I’d like to do this year, and maybe add in a fun little theme, like “Favorite movies this month” or “What I did wrong” or something like that. As I mentioned earlier, I’d love to do a “Wordless Q&A”entry some time soon! I’d love to share some special videos I might find, or songs I’ve been listening to at any given time, so stay tuned for further developments!

Sinceriously,

Julie

 

Leave a Reply

