Inspiration · Lifestyle · MBTI

3 Reasons Why Emotions Are Logical

If you know me at all then you know that I am absolutely obsessed with the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI). I spend a lot of my time thinking about, researching, and talking about personality types by myself and with my friends (yes, I talk to myself about personality types :3). Most of the time we’ll look at a specific person’s actions and begin dissecting why he made a certain decision, said a particular thing, or acted in a specific way. Usually this consists of breaking it down to how that individual thing coincides with which letter in that person’s type (i.e. T-hinking, P-erceiving, S-ensing, etc.). You sort of have to know about the different letters featured in the MBTI and what they mean to know exactly what I’m talking about, but hopefully you get the gist of what I’m talking about.

In regards to this dissection of why a person makes certain decisions, etc., a lot of times the discussion comes down to Thinking vs. Feeling, and how whether a person is a Thinker or Feeler affects those decisions. Thinkers will often rule out emotions entirely when faced with a decision, as they are compelled toward action based on logic or justice rather than on the Feelers’ preference of emotions or compassion. Thinkers will generally pay attention only to the logic of the situation, and oftentimes for this reason they can come across as rude and heartless. They also oftenΒ insist that logic is the be-all and end-all of everything, and they will therefore claim that feelings are illogical.

I come back to this discussion in my head time and time again, and this evening was one of those particular evenings I got it stuck in my brain. I know a lot of people who have that special T in their personality types, and even some who carry the sweet F, who will make this very claim that feelings are illogical. Perhaps it’s because I am personally a Feeler, but it really frustrates me that people have this outlook about emotions. Being a Feeler, I will absolutely rely more on my emotions to make decisions and form opinions and things. That’s just my natural tendency. However, I am also an extremely logical person when it comes to the nitty gritty of life, and I will always try my best to look at situations from both points of view. Because of this,Β I want to set the record straight: Emotions. Are. Logical.

I have three logical reasons why that is.

1) Emotions are logical because there is always a reason for their existence.
Sometimes it’s difficult to understand what that reason is, but just because one doesn’t know where an emotion is coming from or why it’s there doesn’t mean there isn’t a reason for it. Some people aren’t as in tune with their emotions as others are and therefore have trouble pinpointing the reason behind them. That doesn’t make feelings any less legitimate, though, and I think it’s silly that some people (especially those with a high Thinking preference) try to bargain them into illogicality.

2) Emotions are logical because there are physical chemical reactions in our brains that occur when we become emotional.
Think about it. Everything had to come from something. Every little aspect of life has to have some kind of foundation or root system. That’s a logical progression, isn’t it? Please correct me if I’m wrong, but I don’t know of anything that doesn’t have a beginning to its existence. Emotions are no exception. They have the same generator or root system as every other function in our bodies: the brain. Is the pumping of blood through the heart illogical? What about the nervous system’s connection to the brain? I’m no chemist or doctor or psychiatrist or smart person who knows the technical terms of what I’m talking about, but from what I understand this is a real thing that shows the logic behind emotions.

3) Emotions are logical because God created them.
I believe our God is a logical God and that He therefore cannot create anything that defies logic (i.e. He cannot create a circle with straight sides or a line with one end). If He cannot create anything that defies logic, we have to assume that everything He has created (and that is therefore in existence) is logical. Why are emotions any different if He created those, too?

And those, my friends, are the reasons why emotions are logical. Please let me know if you have any counter-arguments or comments regarding these reasons!

All of this being said, I want to make a point that there is nothing wrong with some people having trouble getting in touch with their emotional side or people finding difficulty in putting logic aside for just a moment when they are dealing with their emotions. Some people just aren’t built with a strong connection to feelings, and that’s OK. Logic is a beautiful thing, and we would be nowhere if it didn’t exist. I would even go so far as to say logic is more important than heart when it comes down to the extremely important aspects of life. I just think that emotions and logic walk hand-in-hand and that they should be used on an equal basis, giving and taking from each other as the need arises. It’s about balancing them out as best as we can. Sometimes logic will trump emotions, and sometimes emotions will trump logic.Β Of course, I will always advocate the importance of feelings, looking at the heart of the matter, having compassion and mercy on others, being kind to those around you, respecting others, and all of the wonderful things that these logical emotions allow us to do. πŸ™‚

Sinceriously,

Julie

One thought on “3 Reasons Why Emotions Are Logical

  1. Those are three excellent points you have there.
    This thought especially resonated with me:
    “… just because one doesn’t know where an emotion is coming from or why it’s there doesn’t mean there isn’t a reason for it.”
    Even as a Feeler, I find myself brushing off others’ feelings or opinions if they can’t verbalize a logical reason for their feelings.
    And from a logical point of view, ignoring groundless opinions is key in filtering the information we encounter which, of course, is an ineffective approach if you value your relationship with them at all.
    People often would rather have their feelings acknowledged than remedied.
    Love it, Julie!

Leave a Reply

